APR2 | 9/5/17


APR night: two handicap road races were held – each over one and a half laps of the usual Borders chain gang loop – with starts and finishes at Mount Pleasant and Swinton. Three groups of three were allotted to ride away together in the hope of holding off the chasing groups. The scratch group just couldn’t resist the urge to reel in the middle group by Swinton and then almost immediately powered away from last year’s APR champion Neil Tait and runner-up Devrim Turkay, with only Andy Beattie making the transition. When the A Team of Messrs Grant, Horne and Mitchell rode across to the first group they met with stiffer resolve from Jane Holmes and youngsters David Fotheringham and Bruce Logan; Bruce in particular impressed with a second and third place in the sprints. Mike Horne proved sharpest of the fast men across the piece. The second race saw Holmes and Turkay make it as far as the flamme rouge before their hopes were dashed.

1. Mike Horne; 2. Robbie Mitchell; 3. Bruce Logan; 4. Andy Beattie; 5. Lester Grant; 6. Jane Holmes; 7. David Fotheringham; 8. Devrim Turkay; 9. Neil Tait

In open competition, Robbie Mitchell made it into the top 10 at the opening round of the Border Trophy, hosted by Hawick CC over their 10 mile TT course. Lester Grant had a busier week, managing to fit in a criterium at Ingliston, the Hawick TT and a hilly TT courtesy of Border City Wheelers in Carlisle.

Next club night is the second round of the King Of The Mountains series on 23/5/17 – 7pm in Duns Square.

Comments --