Cranshaws 10-mile TT


1 R Mitchell 24’26’’ (24.6mph)
2 L Grant 26’08’’
3 G Moore 28’13’’
4 M Horne 28’18’’
5 D Martin 29’36’’
6 A White 29’55’’
7 D Turkay 30’33’’
8 P Ford 32’17’’
9 G McMullan 33’12’’
10 N Trussler 34’12’’
11 L Thomson 40’12’’
Timekeeping: J Nisbet & D Philip

The longer ‘out’ section of the course into the evening’s headwind seemingly took its toll on the eleven riders, as many recorded times well down on their personal bests. Only Robbie Mitchell was relatively untouched, with a good margin over Lester Grant, while Greig Moore pipped Michael Horne for the final podium spot. In fact, George McMullan was the only rider to resist Robbie’s capture. George had competed on Sunday 1st May in the Burnmouth Brae races (5k run, then bike up the Brae, followed by running up the Brae) and improved in each element of his race from last year. Aidan McIlroy didn’t take in the 5k run, but impressed with third on the bike and a comfortable win in the run up the brutally steep wall. Club President, Dave Philip, regaled at the finishing line with tales of his exploits in Scottish Milk Races of yesteryear. Next up on Tuesday 17th May is the unique combination of the 7.5-mile hilly Lintlaw TT followed immediately by the freewheel down the hill beyond Slighhouses; the latter being some folks best chance of silverware this year.